Reading Wrap-up: April 2017 Edition

Another month gone by, and another couple of books knocked off of my to-be-read list!

April was a lighter reading month (I only finished two novels), partly because I was busy with other things and partly due to reasons that shall be enumerated below.  But let’s just dive into it, shall we?

1) Voyage of the Basilisk by Marie Brennan.  Thus continues my love affair with this series.  The third volume in the Memoirs of Lady Trent series takes Isabella and company on a two year journey around the world in search of dragons.  It did not disappoint.  Dragons, adventures, and shenanigans-in-general were had by all.  I feel like I’ve already raved enough in an earlier installment of my wrap-up series that I won’t go into too much detail here.  Suffice it to say that I’ve been pushing these books on literally everyone I know, at every available opportunity.  Go read them.  Or listen to them on audiobook.  Or all of the above.

2) Elantris by Brandon Sanderson.  A little backstory on how I came to purchase a copy of this novel: I was in the middle of reading Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy (which I have also discussed loving in an earlier posting), I came across a copy of Elantris in a second-hand bookstore (The Last Bookstore – if you’re ever in LA go check it out), and I bought it on a whim.  I was loving these other books that he’d written – it stood to reason that I’d love all of his other stuff too, right?.  Sadly, I was thoroughly underwhelmed by Elantris.  I stand by my previous comments that Sanderson is a master of plot and of world-building; such aspects of the novel were a big part of why I chose to keep slogging through it, even when I wanted to move onto something else.  And I do mean slogging.  I started reading Elantris in early- to mid-March, and I finally finished it in the last week of April.  That is a long time to get through a book which, hefty as it is, reads really quickly once you settle into it.  My main problem with this book was the character development, and characterization in general of all the main POV perspectives.  Without going too deeply into it, because if I did we’d be here all day, I just didn’t care about any of the characters.  Perhaps this is just my takeaway from it, but I think a big part of the reason why is because nearly every character sounded the same to me.  There was very little distinction in tone (and even less distinction in style of dialogue) from one character to another.  And that got boring really quickly.  I’m going to chalk this up to the fact that Elantris was his debut novel, and his writing style has matured since its publication.  We’ll see what I think of his other published works when I inevitably get around to reading them.

And that’s all she wrote!  Or read, in my case.  Until next month, folks!

Leave a Reply

